Quote of the [time period]

October 24, 2007

I saw this one while riding the subway, and knew it was a winner:

“Man soll die Dinge nicht so tragisch nehmen wie sie sind.”

-Karl Valentin

Then I became discouraged, because I was unable to translate it satisfactorily into English. It should say something like, “Don’t act like everything is a tragedy, just because it is”, though that is in no way true to the original structure of the quote. Pithy as the quote is, I can’t seem to render it in natural English.

2 Responses to “Quote of the [time period]”

  1. Thomas Says:

    Bill!
    Ok, so, a series of statements that pop into my head that may be of mild to middling interest to you:

    I’m glad that you have a travelogue or “travelblogue,” as it’s a worthwhile endeavor.

    I hope that you’ve been mulling over my critique of capitalism/reading my old emails about the statement “property is theft.”

    I am jealous of the absurdly low rent that you’ve been paying

    I threw out your futon mattress but kept the wooden frame thingy and plan to adorn it with future mattresses

    I was an hour late for work the other day because I was talking to Tom for the first time in over a year

    That time when you helped me navigate Coney Island was indeed really weird

    I’m gonna have a drink with Claire and her sister tonight

    Brooklyn originally comes from a dutch word “Breukelen,” which means
    “broken land”

    That is all!
    ~Thomas

  2. William Says:

    Thanks for the comment. Mild to middling interest is what blogs are all about, as far as I can tell.

    As I say in my introduction, the goal is to make it as good as your Beijing blog, which was quite an interesting one. I think I’ll have to start doing more interesting things if that’s to happen, or at least claiming that I’m doing interesting things.


Leave a Reply

