Viennese Coffee Culture

January 26, 2008

I discovered a really great coffee shop today, and as such I am finally getting into the whole Viennese coffee culture. I’ve been to a few places before, but mostly they were too uppity or too hipster-ish or too whatever. I noticed the following features of this place that made the overall experience excellent:

1. Reasonably-priced coffee – I got a nice-sized mug of coffee for 2 euro, which in Vienna is an unmistakable bargain.
2. It’s smoke-free– This is probably the only coffee house in Vienna, certainly the only one I know about, that is smoke-free. This doesn’t seem like such a big deal until you’ve lived in Vienna for 4 months as a non-smoker. At this point, I’m pretty fed up with having my clothes smell like smoke every time I go out.
3. Good atmosphere – the place is well-lit, clean, and has ample seating while still attracting enough people to make it seem popular. Also, they have upstairs seating, so you never the the feeling that the people who work there are eyeing you.
4. Location – It is conveniently located in the Innenstadt on Mariahilfer Strasse, one of the busiest shopping streets in Vienna. It’s the perfect place to sit and watch people go by.

The place was called Starbucks; I don’t know what that means in German. Anyway, if you are ever in Vienna, you should check out this place.

Note: I couldn’t fight the urge to edit this post to make it cutesy. Sorry.

One Response to “Viennese Coffee Culture”

  1. Thomas Says:

    Starrrrrbuck!

    -Edward James Olmos


Leave a Reply

