Two Trips in One Week? Czech!

February 17, 2008

Apparently I just can’t get enough, because on Friday afternoon I decided to return to the Czech Republic in order to attend a CouchSurfing party in Plzen, home of Pilsner Urquell and some other fine beers (actually I was a big fan of Master, which reminded me of an American beer in its hoppiness).

The party was excellent; I really had little or no information going in, so I expected we would drive up, spend the night partying, and then drive back down on Saturday. Much bigger things were in store. Friday was party night, Saturday was the big walking tour of Plzen. There aren’t a whole lot of sights to see in Plzen, but I did climb a large church tower and got a nice view of the city. I skipped the Pilsner Urquell brewery tour, since I’ve been on two brewery tours already (Anheuser-Busch, Guinness), and I don’t think I’d get much marginal value from a third. Then another get-together on Saturday night and on Sunday we headed back to Vienna.

Plzen was a lot like Prague, really. Beautiful town, cheap beer and food, lots of people speaking Czech. Still, a fun time overall. Tomorrow, back to school!

Leave a Reply

