Zen and the Art of Moped Maintenance

September 12, 2008

Well, I managed to fulfill a dream I’ve had for five years by buying a moped over the weekend. Even better: it didn’t work when I got it, so I had the chance to try some moped repairs. Basically, the thing just had a dirty carburetor, so all it needed a thorough clearing of carburetor gunk. Of course, that is not something that I recognized twenty hours of labor ago. But in the process, I learned how to assemble a throttle, how to test spark plugs (kind of), and I became intimately acquainted with my carburetor.

Now the moped is running, and yes, I am feeling good about myself.

Leave a Reply

