Sarah Palin Watch

December 8, 2008

I’m not actually watching Sarah Palin. I did come across this NYTimes article by accident:

Here’s Palin’s response, after Matt Lauer asked her when she knew the election was lost:

“I had great faith that, you know, perhaps when that voter entered that voting booth and closed that curtain that what would kick in for them was, perhaps, a bold step that would have to be taken in casting a vote for us, but having to put a lot of faith in that commitment we tried to articulate that we were the true change agent that would progress this nation.”

I have no idea what she said in that thicket of words.

I’m sure he’s using hyperbole for humorous effect. I hope he’s using hyperbole for humorous effect.

2 Responses to “Sarah Palin Watch”

  1. Dan Says:

    So were you using hyperbole for humorous effect when you called Keynes’s writing “incomprehensible junk”? I hope you were you using hyperbole for humorous effect when you called Keynes’s writing “incomprehensible junk”.


  2. Oh, did you read Keynes’s “General Theory,” and it was easy for you to understand?

    That must be the case, because otherwise your comment is entirely irrelevant. Let’s schedule a book club meeting, and you can explain Keynes’ macroeconomic models to me.

    Anyway, it’s hard for me to speculate about what my state of mind would have been, had I said something I didn’t say. Here’s what I wrote:

    “I must admit that I don’t really understand what he is talking about most of the time. I have not yet decided whether that’s because Keynes is right and I’m dense, or because Keynes’s writing is incomprehensible junk.”


Leave a Reply

