Awareness

December 25, 2008

On occasion, the thought will occur to me that I’ve reached a point where I’ve basically had all the major revelations I’m going to have, and from here on out it is just a matter of refining my current knowledge.

Thankfully, soon after that thought occurs, I realize what a ridiculously silly notion that is. To give an example, in the last two days, I became aware of the Austrian business cycle theory, the study of which led to my awareness of a major and ongoing controversy in macroeconomics. There are major aspects of the field which I spend all of my time studying that I am completely unaware of. How silly to think I could be anything like finished making major discoveries.

Also, as someone who greatly appreciated the phrase “all your base are belong to us” in its day, I don’t know how a major internet phenomenon made it to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade without my knowing anything about it.

Conclusion: I have a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

