Control Your Emotions

February 23, 2009

When I was in high school I listened to a lecture on emotions in the context of existentialism, in which the speaker asserted that you could “talk yourself out of” an emotion via rationality. It struck me as amazing at the time, and I was excited to give it a shot. In the years since, I’ve become more and more convinced that the speaker’s statement is simply untrue. The best I’ve ever been able to do is to make myself believe, in all earnesty, that the way I feel is stupid. But that’s not anything like talking myself into a different feeling entirely.

As always, I don’t know how other people are, but at least Mark agrees with me:

I tend to agree with Mark a lot. Would you say that’s “bad” or “normal”?

Leave a Reply

