Ring of Gyges

April 7, 2009

Alright, the rule I just made up is that I’m only going to post on horrible things when they actually surprise me and cause me to update my beliefs in some way. 

Anyway, I’ve always believed that Russians soldiers were somehow uniquely evil during World War II, and that if the Americans had taken Berlin instead of the Russians, they would have been greeted as liberators, rather than with dread. So I was surprised to see the book Taken By Force: Rape and American GIs During WWII. For whatever reason, no online reviews exist, so I’ll just have to take the blurb’s word for its contents.

Well, I don’t know if the American soldiers would score worse or better than the Russians on atrocities (would this be worth knowing?), but this book is definitely a signal that I ought to be much less smug about the Russians going forward.

(HT: This post, which also points to this article.)

Leave a Reply

